ERS 8800/8600 Installation and Configuration



In this course, you will learn how to install and configure the ERS 8800/8600 series products. You will learn to install and upgrade software and configure traditional features, including Ethernet switching and resiliency features and IP routing and resiliency features. This course also prepares you for ERS 8000 Series Advanced Configuration and Maintenance (5D00018V).


Network technicians who will be involved installing and configuring solutions based on Avaya ERS8000 core switches.


Completion of the online course ERS 8000 Series Product Overview (5D00014W)

Learning Objectives

  • Reset an ERS 8800/8600 switch to factory defaults
  • Perform an initial software installation and configuration of an ERS 8800/8600 switch
  • Boot process of an ERS 8800/8600 switch
  • ERS 8800/8600 configuration interfaces
  • Navigate the ACLI and EDM configuration interfaces
  • Configure Spanning Tree and VLANs
  • Configure VLANs and assign IP addresses to VLANs
  • Configure link aggregation and layer 2 resiliency features on the ERS 8800/8600
  • Configure link aggregation using SMLTs
  • Configure link resiliency using SLPP and VLACP
  • Configure IPv4 and IPv6 routing
  • Configure OSPF, OSPFv3, and route policies
  • Implement layer 3 resiliency
  • Configure RSMLT, RSMLT Edge, and Virtual Router Redundancy Protocol (VRRP)

1. Software Installation

2. Chassis Operations

3. Configuration Interfaces

4. Layer 2 Configuration

5. Link Aggregation and Resiliency

6. Layer 3 Configuration

7. Layer 3 Resiliency

8. Unified Access